August 20, 2005

  • Now I lay me down not to sleep
    I just get tangled in the sheets
    I swim in sweat three inches deep
    I just lay back and claim defeat

    Chapter read and lesson learned
    I turned the lights off while she burned
    So while she’s three hundred degrees
    I throw the sheets off and I freeze

    My lids down, I count sheep, I count heartbeats
    The only thing that counts is that I won’t sleep, I count down, I look around

    Who needs sleep? Well, you’re never gonna get it
    Who needs sleep? Tell me what’s that for
    Who needs sleep? Be happy with what you’re gettin’
    There’s a guy who’s been awake since the Second World War
    Who needs sleep? Well, you’re never gonna get it
    Who needs sleep? Tell me what’s that for
    Who needs sleep? Be happy with what you’re gettin’
    There’s a guy who’s been awake since the Second World War

    My hands are locked up tight in fists
    My mind is racing, filled with lists
    Of things to do and things I’ve done
    Another sleepless night’s begun

    My lids down, I count sheep, I count heartbeats
    The only thing that counts is that I won’t sleep, I count down, I look around

    Who needs sleep? Well, you’re never gonna get it
    Who needs sleep? Tell me what’s that for
    Who needs sleep? Be happy with what you’re gettin’
    There’s a guy who’s been awake since the Second World War
    Who needs sleep? Well, you’re never gonna get it
    Who needs sleep? Tell me what’s that for
    Who needs sleep? Be happy with what you’re gettin’
    There’s a guy who’s been awake since the Second World War

    There’s so much joy in life, so many pleasures all around
    The pleasures of insomnia are ones I’ve never found
    With all life has to offer, there’s so much to be enjoyed
    The pleasures of insomnia are ones I can’t avoid

    My lids down, I count sheep, I count heartbeats
    The only thing that counts is that I won’t sleep, I count down, I look around

    Who needs sleep? Well, you’re never gonna get it
    Who needs sleep? Tell me what’s that for
    Who needs sleep? Be happy with what you’re gettin’
    There’s a guy who’s been awake since the Second World War
    Who needs sleep? Well, you’re never gonna get it
    Who needs sleep? Tell me what’s that for
    Who needs sleep? Be happy with what you’re gettin’
    There’s a guy who’s been awake since the Second World War

    Well, here it is, 5:30 in the morning and I’ve been up
    for an hour already. The Fun Fact is, I’m due to fire seven trips today
    and then do a dinner train in the evening. Who’s stopping for a really
    big cup of coffee on his way to work?

    Yeah, with circumstances like that, I ain’t going to work without a few drops of blood in my caffeine stream.

    Today’s going to be the big test – those seven trips I’m firing? The
    big man himself is the engineer today. I’ve found a firing pattern that
    works well with Bill and with a crusty old engineer who’s pretty hard
    to please – so today I get to see if it works with Big Boss Man.
    Somehow I’m doubtful, though. (Note to self: Keep an eye on him, he’ll
    be testing you by running the engine differently each trip and using
    steam faster than you can make it.)

    Oh man, but if that engine foams again today…heads will roll, my friends, heads will roll.

    Anyone who’s unfamiliar with steam power – boiler foaming happens when
    there’s a whole lot of solid crud collected at the top of the water
    level. One can eliminate this problem by blowing most of the steam out
    of the boiler and lowering the water level first thing in the morning,
    but there is the occasion when, for whatever reason, it doesn’t get
    blown down far enough. You open up your throttle and voila! The engine
    starts pretending that it’s Old Faithful. Foaming boiler = sucking all
    the water out = running the injector constantly all the way up the hill
    = Chris shoveling his ass off non-stop trying to keep the pressure up.
    Which is impossible anyway when all he’s got to shovel is worthless
    dirt wishing it was coal, which 1) doesn’t generate any heat
    whatsoever, 2) forms industrial-sized clinkers along the sides of the
    firebox, and 3) is largely composed of ash that obstructs any air from
    getting through the fire. So not only do you lose time because you’re
    losing pressure, you lose even more time when you have to run back to
    the ash pit three and four times during the day. That sound like fun to
    you? I thought so.

    But after having two near-perfect days earlier this week, all I can say
    is que sera, sera. Sun’s coming up – might as well grab a bite to eat.
    I’ve a sinking feeling that this’ll be an even longer day than
    necessary.

Comments (1)

  • Oh, Chris, do let us know what happened!  Who was the Big Boss, Jeff or Eric?  How did the seven trips work out?  How did you manage with SO LITTLE SLEEP???  Inquiring minds want to know!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories