September 20, 2005

  • Here’s a glue guy, a performance god
    A makeshift shrine, newly lain sod
    Hardly even trying, gives the nod

    I sure hope I’m not the type to dwell
    Hope I’m a fast healer, fast as hell
    Heaven is a better place today
    Because of this, but the world is just not the same

    If and when you get into the end zone
    Act like you’ve been there a thousand times before
    Don’t blame
    Don’t say people lose people all the time anymore

    A toonie to the busker, and a husky “Keep it comin’” under my breath
    But then said, “Though if you wouldn’t mind,
    Less crying and more trying and more trying and less crying”

    I’m not the type to dwell
    I’m a fast healer, fast as hell
    Heaven is a better place today
    Because of this, but the world is just not the same

    Oh, if and, if and when you get into the end zone
    Act like you’ve been there a thousand times before
    Don’t blame
    And don’t say people lose people all the time anymore
    People lose people all the time anymore

    If and when you get into that end zone
    Act like you’ve been there a thousand times before
    Don’t change
    But don’t say people lose people all the time anymore

    It’s just not the same
    Because of this, it’s not the same

Comments (8)

  • “And now they’re listening to up-tempo rap music”

    oh thats the worst. my apologies. up tempo. ugh. Poor Chris. May the Force to knock those people over, be with you.

    ~M

  • Thank you for your concern :) I am doing better, and God is surely taking care of me!!

    Take care

  • The muffin man is driving a USPS truck this week.  Be on the lookout tomorrow or Saturday.  Cryptically, L.

  • Somewhere I saw a comment from a young person, wishing they could Do More to help other people with all these natural disasters slamming the country right now, and I thought of you, and the post you wrote right after Katrina.

    The thing is — when you are young, it does hurt to see other people hurting, and you do feel so powerless, and wish you could help everybody at once.  And when you realize you can’t, it’s easy to get depressed, or worse, to say, “Well, since I can’t do anything about everybody, I won’t do anything at all.”

    Thing is, it’s physically impossible to help *everybody.*  (Aside from which, as I once read, if *you* are helping everybody, you are depriving other people of their chance to be helpful, too.)  So you learn to pace yourself:  I can’t help all the disaster victims, but I can donate money or food or clothing to the place where it will do the most good.  For me, that’s always IOCC, because I know that every dollar I give will be matched by nine other sources, *and* they use nearly everything they collect for the good of others.  I can’t stop wars, and I can’t stop people getting hurt in them, but I can give money to the Disabled American Veterans, and thank a veteran for fighting on my behalf.  They seem like such little things.  But it all adds up.

    Take heart, Chris.  People *do* lose people all the time — and it is always a tragedy.  But it only remains a tragedy if we let it get to us, if we don’t use what we learned to reach out a compassionate heart and hand.

  • I’m stealing your quiz, Irony. Thanks and have a nice day!

    ~M

  • Loewenherz has posed for a picture…while he contemplates the Muffin Man.

  • Calling all train crew…  Is there life down there???

  • Your comments are just getting better and better. Darth Real Life… one heck of a cruel guy. And you’re right about one door closing and another one opening. I really hope something will come along soon to sweep me away from this emotional torment. I really hate brooding and dwelling. But I’m also disgnosed with obsessive compulsive disorder… so… I have an extra hard time.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories