August 11, 2005

  • And so my love for GE locomotives has naught but mushroomed in the last three days. (Yeah, right, Ronald…)

    The other day I ran the 531 up the full length of the line pending its
    92-day inspection; thankfully that butt-ugly engine isn’t leaking oil
    as badly as it was a few months ago, and it’s responding in Run 2
    again, but still. When you go over a grade crossing in the 531, in all
    its GE-designed, Union Pacific-painted ugliness, you can’t help but
    wonder if the motorists are thinking, “What the hell is he doing
    running THAT piece of shit??” I wouldn’t put it in quite those terms,
    though, if only we’d just knuckle down and repaint the damn
    thing…but, feh. Small wonder that we keep it at the south end of the
    line, out of the tourists’ sight.

    Got to the north end of the line, collected the 7087 and a hopper car,
    and got set up for a stone train on Wednesday. Sat around twiddling my
    thumbs for nightmarish amounts of time in between truckloads as always,
    despite a passionate plea in my IM away message for people to “CALL THE
    FREAKING CELL!!!” En route to the interchange, my boss and I couldn’t
    help noticing that the engine was taking an awful lot of power for
    eight cars…

    …and today we found the answer.

    We did a little switcheroo in the morning and then headed northward ho
    to top off 7087′s radiator (another symbol of my sarcastic fondness for
    GE engines). We were only a few miles up the line – hence I was
    sweatslicking the independent brake even more than the throttle – when
    my boss, always on the tack, suddenly hollered at me to STOP STOP STOP!

    No wonder we were pulling so hard yesterday – we’d been passing over a busted rail.

    God only knows what happened, but one of those loaded hoppers somehow
    spread the gauge, derailed, and then rerailed itself as we passed over
    a handy switch (shearing off a half-dozen spikes, skewering the rail
    joint, and breaking the head of the rail in the process). That switch
    is a nightmare to begin with, but as of yesterday, it has effectively
    cut off the south end of the railroad from the rest of it, until we
    muster a repair crew at the crack of dawn tomorrow.

    I haven’t had that much fun since I rode lead on the ballast car for about six miles.

Comments (4)

  • Is anybody reading this besides me?!?!?!

    How did you manage with repairing the rail?  And I wonder if the switch was a nightmare because the connection was bad to begin with.  How does it operate now?

  • Others are reading…

    Were the rail repairs like Rocket Boys in reverse?  Rrrrr?

    Pls see email re pkg enroute.

    Is riding lead on a ballast car, for any distance, fun?  Or is this railroad…high irony?

  • That’s what happens when you drive a rotten banana (aka #531) down to Ivyland! What ever happened to using ol’ 2198?

  • You are so right! That really made me smile, thank you

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories