Month: February 2005

  • Instructions from the manual
    Could not have been much more plain
    The blues are still required
    The blues are still required again
    Past territorial piss-posts
    Past whispers in the closet

    Past screamin’ from the rooftops
    We live to survive our paradoxes
    We live to survive our paradoxes
    We live to survive our paradoxes

    Men hear of the secret
    They pass in upholstered silence
    They only exist in crisis
    They only exist in silence
    Past territorial piss-posts
    Past whispers in the closet

    Past screamin’ from the rooftops
    We live to survive our paradoxes
    We live to survive our paradoxes
    We live to survive our paradoxes

    **********
    Well, I had my first derailment today.

    Now before you all freak yourselves into a stupor and I have to scrape
    the lot of you off the ceiling with a putty knife, let me clarify this
    one thing for you. No railroader’s career is complete without at least
    one derailment. They happen every day, equipment gets damaged, people
    get hurt, and contents get messed up to the stars. But this car was
    empty, it was not severely damaged (just got a little dislocated from
    one of its trucks), and NO DAMN BODY GOT HURT. Minor incidents like
    these are how we railroaders learn to prevent them from happening again
    with more unfortunate results. Can you all live with that? Good. Thank
    you.

    In case you’re wondering, we were about to pull a few cars out of a
    sidetrack, and were doing a brake check. I radioed the engineer to
    apply brakes – and lo and behold, the train started moving. By the time
    I called for an emergency stop, WHAMMO! The last car had gone
    squeeching off the end of the track. Don’t ask me why he started moving
    the train when I told him to apply brakes, especially since he
    maintains that I told him to move. Anyway, this has happened before -
    and in addition to the consequences stated above, my boss doesn’t
    consider it that big of a deal. Which was a bloody relief, I might
    add…Still, I’m not going to lose sleep over it. Not only do things
    like this happen every day, but it could have been much, much worse. I
    mean, look what happened in California yesterday. I’ve learned
    something from it, and so has the engineer (who, by the way, has been
    doing this for over forty years).

    I knew this was going to happen sooner or later, and granted, I’d have
    preferred it to happen later instead of sooner. But there’s no
    need for a frenetic fuss over it – it’s happened, it’s over, and
    everybody’s moving on (as soon as we get that car back on the rails,
    that is). So relax and have a pickle. There are other great things out
    there that are vastly more worthy of your attention.

  • Had a somewhat cruddy day at work
    to-day. Undertook what is quite possibly the biggest waste of my time
    and the railroad’s money trying to lap a stubborn air-pump valve.
    Yeesh, I can’t wait till we get that steamer back together…and my
    mood was not improved by the constant ranting and raving on the radio.
    Every station in the area is raising hell about the Eagles going to the
    Super Bowl. I mean, they’ll play like one or two songs, then suddenly
    break up the setlist with some earsplitting rant (or on one station,
    some inane song parody) about the Eagles’ imminent journey to
    Jacksonville.

    BIG
    FUCKING
    DEAL!!!!!!


    I’m not saying this because I’m from Patriots country; I’m saying this
    because I’m sick and tired of hearing about it. I couldn’t care less if
    the Eagles play the best game they’ve ever played in the Stupid Bowl; I
    couldn’t care less about the Eagles themselves; in fact, I couldn’t
    care less about football in general. Sunday to me is a day for worship,
    not sports. It’s wearing thinner than turpentine, and I will thank the
    populace of greater Philadelphia to stop cramming it down my throat.